Our Grandparents had it Right

By Alec Sharp (Palmetto Prepper)

Back when our grandparents were young most people were fairly resilient and resourceful. Largely they grew a lot of their own food, knew how to can/store it for the winter and had the basic ability to fix and repair items when they broke. In addition, they did not spend their money foolishly and were masters of reusing and repurposing items. If our grandparents made a bad decision there was no federal program to bail them out; they were accountable for the outcomes of their decisions.

Most people now a day live in a disposable/instant gratification world. If it is broken they throw it away and simply buy a new one. Worse than that is when a newer model of an item they already have comes out, lots of people will simply disregard the older model and buy a new one (I have a friend that has a new iPhone 5 and also an iPhone 4 and 4S in a bedroom drawer; still in working condition). There is no waiting; you get hungry simply pull into the nearest fast food drive thru and in a few minutes you have a hot meal and cold drink. This society has left us empty and wanting more!

Society has forgotten the mottos of our grandparents. Patience is a virtue. Waste not, want not. If you want something you will have to work for it. If you squander what you have then you will go without. Put some away for a rainy day. When was the last time you have heard any of those mottos? I know for me it has been a long time!

However, trends seem to be changing. More and more people are getting interested in prepping. If you think about what prepping is, it is basically trying to live our lives closer to the way our grandparents did and less like people of the very recent past. The prepping movement seems to be growing. More people are waking up and realize that we are going to have to be accountable for ourselves and our families, society as a collective will not be able to keep up with the pace of people needs.

Spring is upon us, go plant a little garden, examine your life and take responsibility for you decisions. Make your grandparents proud!

For more information please visit my Facebook page -Palmetto Prepper at http://www.facebook.com/PalmettoPrepper?ref=hl

23 responses

  1. Some really good thoughts here….. thanks for sharing. 🙂

  2. When was the last time you have heard any of those mottos?

    every day but only in my head 🙂

    1. Hopefully we will be hearing it more.

      1. Maybe its time for those that know the mottos – meaning me – should start saying them out loud again like my grandparents did

  3. I love how you put it – “prepping is, it is basically trying to live our lives closer to the way our grandparents did”. It’s scary to think so many of the skills and knowledge from our grandparents is being forgotten.

    1. I want everyone to know that preppers are not crazy people!

  4. Awesome Post! My parents are older than most of my peers’ parents and I remember being raised to can and repair, etc, while my friend’s parents did the “pitch and buy another one” thing. And thank you for such a nice description of preppers. I would add that we are trying to be stable in life and know life has it’s set backs and we want to be ready for them. I am sick of being thought of as some nut waiting for the end of civilization! We had 2 power outtages last year and the cops that came to guard the “live wire”, ( a tree fell in the neighbor’s yard and broke the wire and it fell in our pond! ), in the one outtage could not believe we were so calm with no power.He said most the houses up our strip of road were seething about it. I laughed, lit the oil lamps and put a fresh battery in the laptop. We played cribbage and grilled out and washed to dishes out of the rain barrel outside. We were the talk of the utility guys and cops in our area for days. I felt kind of sad about it. That out of 6 families, we were the only ones prepared.

    1. Thanks for your kind words, I miss my grandmothers kitchen!

      1. Me too! And my Aunt’s too.. A “clean” mess of raw milks and canned yummys..lol

    1. Thanks for reblogging

  5. Excellent article, thanks for posting it!

    PS: I *am* your grandmother, so I like hearing those words about our generation, especially those of us who were farm kids and who were raised on these maxims and habits.

    73, and still prepping~~

    1. And I see you are a fellow ham radio operator! Thanks for the kind words from area 4.

      73s,

      Alec

  6. […] I have been asked by both friends and family this one question: What is prepping? This question often confuses me because prepping is such a natural activity. It is what American’s have done since the beginning of our great county. Prepping is preparing for the future. It is just that simple. You decide what you are preparing for and do it. But for most of us, the acts of prepping consist of storing up basics for the future (food, water and supplies). For more information about what our grandparents did check out this blog entry: https://ki4idb.wordpress.com/2013/04/04/our-grandparents-had-it-right/ […]

  7. […] The original article may be found here: Palmetto Prepper […]

  8. I say these words all the time and I live by them. I have lived like my grandparents lived and love it. There is nothing like it.. The rewards are amazing. Thank you for this post. Will be back to read some more of your work.

  9. Here here Alec!! Like I tell my friends, even Noah was a prepper!!

    1. David … that is so true!

  10. What’s up Dear, are yyou really visiting thiss
    web page on a regular basis, if so then yyou will definitely obtain fastidious know-how.

  11. I love our blog.. very nice colors & theme.
    Did you create this website yourself or did you hirre someone to do
    it for you? Plz reply as I’m looking to design my own blog and would like to
    know where u got thhis from. kudos

    1. I just follow the Word Press directions. It is easy.

  12. […] The original article may be found here: Palmetto Prepper […]

Leave a Reply

